Guinea Pig Takes Flight

guinea (5)Screen shot 2014-06-01 at 12.07.52 AMguinea (2)Screen shot 2014-06-01 at 12.07.07 AM

Oh that little face. I could probably stare at it all day long.

This is a piece I created recently for a local exhibition with a hybrid animals theme, and I think the wings are just the thing to make this wee guinea pig a little extra special. Secretly (okay no so secretly) I would like a real guinea pig, but making this allllmost satisfied that want. It’s all the cute with none of the clean up!

I loved making this piece, and it was a new experiment for me using flax pulp as stuffing (amazing), and creating these little feet out of a soft clay-like product. When I get this guy back home I would love to display him suspended somewhere, feet a-dangling! Ack!

Thanks to the Wild in the City Nature Festival and Unreal City here in Saskatoon for having me as part of your show!

Leave a Reply

