Boolah Baguette Undies

Screen shot 2014-06-26 at 11.22.39 PMundies (5)Screen shot 2014-06-26 at 11.23.18 PMundies (7)

In the middle of pre-Christmas madness last year, I took a (momentary) step away from the dolls and started making some underwear for kids. Since I already make children’s items it seemed like a good fit – plus I’m so tired of seeing cheaply made, flimsy girl panties, and kids underwear decorated with movie characters in order to sell them. Maybe I’ve thought too much about it at this point, but I think kid’s underwear should hold it’s place through kartwheels and be easy enough for a potty trainer. Well, it’s been about a year since I started making these for my own kids, so I felt like I had tested and re-tested the pattern enough (this particular pattern is That Darn Kat – and if you sew, I definitely encourage you to try it!). I love the modesty, the elastic-free, and the contrasting front panel even in the girl’s pattern. And when I came across this beautiful organic cotton fabric from Lillestoff, well, I just had to. I had to! The fabric is so soft, some of the nicest I’ve ever worked with, and it is perfect for underwear. There should be a rule about undies being as cute as possible!

So far I have just been making these to accompany my dolls at a few craft sales, but maybe I will be able to offer them online soon. I’ll keep you posted πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

