Sew Cute To Cuddle Blog Hop & Giveaway

socute

Hi! Today is my stop on the Sew Cute To Cuddle blog hop! This is a new soft toy making pattern book by Mariska Vos-Bolman, with select patterns from her line of ‘Fluffies’. Like so many soft toy makers, Mariska’s story starts out with the purchase of a sewing machine and takes off from there. After the success of her toys she went into pattern design and now, along with raising her kids, this is her full time gig – quite inspiring!

The patterns in this book range from very easy (as in, if you have never made a soft toy before, this would be a great place to start) and ease on up to being more difficult. The basic need-to-know skills and stitches are easily explained, and I love the way the patterns are illustrated. Because I don’t normally sew from patterns, to me a good pattern uses as few words as possible and good, concise images. Being quite familiar with the process, I mostly just looked at the images for reference, but I can also say that the patterns are written with a beginner in mind. It would be fun to work your way through the book and have really expanded your skills by the end.

I tested out one of Mariska’s patterns, and this is my version of Mary the Hippo…

hippo (4)Aw, she’s pretty cute…sleepy little hippo. I had to make her this kerchief, well, because you know. I can’t help but put my little touch on things like this, which is exactly what I think you should let yourself do when you follow a pattern. I chose this pattern because with my Boolah Baguette dolls I don’t do very much shaping of pattern pieces to create really round forms, so I wanted to play around with that. I used a textured ‘lamb’ fleece and a recycled wool sweater for the underneath bits. This took me just under an hour to cut out an sew, and I love how it turned out, all plump and lovely. scscSew Cute To Cuddle is available from Stitch Craft Create – and they have been so kind as to let me give away a free copy of the book to one of you wonderful readers. Leave a comment if you would like to be entered, this is open to anyone from anywhere and will close on August 20 (comments are now closed). Have a lovely week!

xo – erin

__________________________________________________

Thanks so much to everyone who commented and entered the giveaway! It ended up turning into a double giveaway, since I figured this hippo needed a good home too!

Our two winners (thanks random name picker!):

Sew Cute to Cuddle ::: Melissa Helland (yay!)

Sleepy Hippo ::: Bekki (yay!)

Please send me an email at boolahb@gmail.com with your addresses – thanks for playing!

 

 

49 thoughts on “Sew Cute To Cuddle Blog Hop & Giveaway

  1. Love your work! Always makes me smile! And would love to play with the patterns in this book, maybe even with my 8 yr old daughter 🙂
    Thanks!

  2. That hippo is adorable! My 7-year old sister has just started sewing her own stuffies and I think her and I could have lots of fun with this book.

  3. Sounds like a fun way to expand my sewing skills and make cute gifts for my kids and nieces!! I would live to be entered in the draw!

  4. Such a cute little hippo. I know my daughter would love something similar to go with her crochet doll and I can imagine knocking out a monkey in something more robust for my dog. Please enter me for the prize draw and I will post the results !!!

  5. I would love to be entered to win this sew cute little book. I love to sew little critters for my granddaughter, Nellie. Her birthday is today. Happy 2nd Birthday Nellie!

  6. Mary the Hippo is so cute! But your two lil’ helpers modeling are the cutest! 🙂
    Looove this book!! Such fun critters to make! Thanks for the chance to win…

  7. This looks like a great project book to use with older children so they can learn how to make their own soft toys. Like your hippo!

  8. Pingback: "Sew Cute to Cuddle" Book Review and Giveaway - A Spoonful of Sugar

  9. Ficou uma fofura total!!
    Gostaria muito de costurar esse padrão.
    Parabéns pelo trabalho! Toda criança ama um bichinho tão fofo assim!!

  10. Hi! What a nice idea to make us discover this book…that seems to be just fabulous! I would love a copy of it to make dozens of nice gifts to my 9 nieces and nephews and my friends’ babies (maybe even my own children soon…!!).

  11. Pingback: “Sew Cute to Cuddle” Book Review and Giveaway | Xcuz Me

Leave a Reply

