A Few Craft Books to Enjoy

We have a certain library here with a really great selection of art and craft books – and every time I get there I come home with a big stack. I am not always into the project part of most craft books, but more often than not they are lovely to look at and provide lots of inspiration. These are a few of my recent favorites…

craftbookscraftbooks

How To Make Stuffed Animals

I have seen so many people in the plush world lately making the type of animal that is outlined in this book – not exact copies (okay, sometimes they are exact copies), but smaller felt animals made in this style. It’s not something I had ever tried, and after having the book around for a while I decided to make the bulldog for a secret santa gift…

craftbooks

This was it in the end, and I really loved how it turned out. But, it was made with a bit of struggle. It’s funny, when I went to do a google image search of the book for this post, I came across one of Abby’s reviews of this same book from years ago. She sums up pretty much everything I felt about the book, especially the parts about the pattern pieces needing to be enlarged (riiight, I have no way of doing that at my studio, so I ended up taking measurements and drafting a new pattern, not very convenient), and also the splaying of the legs, which, even with pretty stiff wool felt I had to go back in and fix. But besides those little troubles, I think most of the animals are very cute and would be a good place to start if you are wanting to join the above mentioned club of tiny felt animal makers.

Screen shot 2015-01-06 at 9.55.21 PMScreen shot 2015-01-06 at 9.55.47 PM

{images via Billygrrrl.com}

Make Your Own Cute and Easy Pompoms

We all love a good translated Japanese craft book around here, right? Just like everyone else seems to say about this book, I really hadn’t thought that much about pom poms before. I mean, I love them, obviously, but that you can make patterns within them? Mind blown.

And for a bit more cute felt…

craftbookscraftbooks

Stitched Safari

I can just barely look at this book it’s so damn cute. I didn’t get a chance to try out any of the projects, but I would really love to get a copy for myself to work from. The animals are all hand stitched, so it would likely be a bit more of a time consuming personal project for me, but it also seems like you would have a lot more control over the finished product this way. My little guy was asking me for days about making him that little rabbit. Gaaah!

I would love to hear any recommendations you have for must-see craft books!

*This post was in no way sponsored, but here’s another shout out to the local library!

2 thoughts on “A Few Craft Books to Enjoy

  1. Those Pom poms are great! I didn’t know you could make them in different patterns like that. I’ve got a fun softie book called countryside softies by Amy Adams. The animals are simple folksy style and easy to sew.

Leave a Reply

