No Nuts Granola Recipe

granola

 

{disclaimer! by using the term ‘no nuts’ I really mean, no tree nuts. See all the options in the recipe below to make sure you only include what’s good for you!}

If I was stuck somewhere and only had one thing to eat (have you played that game lately?) I would really hope it would be all of this granola. Well, and yogurt (you should make that too! recipe here). Anyway, I love this stuff and eat it probably too many times a day, it is also one of my favorite foods to gift. I have an allergy to several common tree nuts, so buying store bought versions is pretty much out – maybe you’re in the same boat, or just want to try it, so I thought I would share the recipe here!

This recipe is based on the original from Simply In Season, a lovely book. This will make enough for two half-gallon jars (which lasts my granola loving self about a week…)

No Nuts Granola:

6 C Large Flake Oats (do not use quick oats)

2 C Whole Wheat Flour (I have also used spelt flour in a pinch and coconut flour, which made the granola drier/finer but was delicious)

1 tbsp each of Cinnamon and Ginger

optional 2 – 3 tsbp Cocoa Powder, if you want it a slight bit chocolatey…

*mix dry ingredients together and add:

1/2 C Oil (I use melted coconut oil, but any vegetable oil will work. If using olive oil, I would suggest combining it with another oil so that the taste is not overwhelming)

1/2 C Melted Honey

optional 1/4 C Peanut Butter or Nut Butter (if you are making a nutty version)

1/4 – 1/2 C each of Raisins, Pumpkin Seeds, Sunflower Seeds, Hemp Seeds, Cacao Nibs (a bit of an acquired taste, but now I can’t imagine it without them), and any chopped up dried fruit that you fancy.

*mix together and add about 1/4 C milk as you stir. When combined the mixture should be evenly wet and clumpy.

*Spread the mixture in a large pan and bake at 330 – stirringΒ  (important!) and decreasing the temperature by 10 degrees every 15 minutes for an hour. Let it dry and cool completely before storing.

Enjoy!

granola (1)

2 thoughts on “No Nuts Granola Recipe

Leave a Reply

