Handmade Wardrobe, Top

handmade wardrobe topBefore January, I came close to declaring 2015 the year that I would only add new clothes to my closet by making them. I was reeeeally close. But then I thought, maybe I’ll just try a little harder, and make a few things when I can. If you follow me on Instagram, I’ve shared a few of my other tops made this year, and I hope to keep it up. I would be the last person to claim that I am fashionable (we can’t all be, it’s okay), but I am very.picky. about the way my clothes fit. Comfort is first, and if it looks nice too, all the better. When my clothes are uncomfortable I feel like I’m going to throw an adult tantrum. Anyway…

I wanted to share this one specifically for a few reasons – the fabrics, the blocking, and the neckband. This shirt was a bit of an accident – I was attempting to recreate (with permission!) a favorite piece made by my friend Tracy at Dear Pony. But the fabric I was using (the navy here) did not hang the same, and so after I cut the first version apart, I was left with only usable sleeves and the bottom section of the shirt. So I readjusted the top half and filled in the gaps with these other fabrics – aiming for a seam across the bust.I have zero experience with creating blocking (sewing the two pieces together at the bust line to make the front and back pieces) with knits. I was nervous that it would stretch too much and leave that horrible ripple that you can so often get when sewing knits. I serged the rest of the seams on this top – but not this seam. Using a needle for knits, I first sewed the seam with a long basting stitch, then again with a shorter stitch, being careful not to stretch the fabric at all while I sewed. I pressed the seam after, and was pleasantly surprised…no ripples!

The floral fabric is an organic cotton knit by Birch – from the Acorn Trail series by Teagan White (the whole collection is so cute – mine was from here). I was unsure if it would be stretchy enough for apparel, but it’s lovely, especially just in a small section like this. I used an off white piece for the back, simply for interest. The navy and off white are 90% cotton, 10% spandex – it is just slightly thick (think yoga pants), and really nice to sew. Shocker, I got this fabric locally at Fabricland.

handmade wardrobe top

I really wanted to share this because of the neckband. This is always my downfall when sewing tops – but I came across this tutorial and thought I would give it a try. It’s so simple and I can’t believe you don’t see it more often. The result is really nice – very sturdy, leaves no edges on the inside of the neck, and can be easily top stitched with a straight stitch to finish it off.

This top is my new favorite – blocked, dropped sleeve, tight on the arms, loose on the middle (to avoid tantrum). I wish I could direct you to a pattern, but mostly I would love to encourage you to try creating your own patterns out of clothes you already know you love.

Happy sewing!

handmade wardrobe top

{thanks to my husband for reluctantly taking these photos…}

Leave a Reply

