With Kids, Part Two

withkids2Sometimes I get kid’s craft books from the library. Sometimes I intend to make the crafts with my kids, and other times I don’t (my patience must be at the hiiiighest level), but they always inspire me somehow. Forest Fairy Crafts (a lovely blog too, talk about crafting with kids) came home with me recently, and last weekend I thought me and my girl should try making them together, these little fairies. I was a bit skeptical about the use of pipe cleaners, but I did remember making very rudimentary versions of dolls like this with my best friend when we were little. I loved them.

I’ll admit, for the most part I made these tiny dolls. I was really into it. E came and went, picking out yarn for hair, choosing colors and accessories, and stitching up the sides of dresses and hats (I have got to get this kid into embroidery). Instead of using wooden beads for the heads, we made beads from a fimo-type clay that you bake, then painted on the details. Yep, I just happened to have this ‘flesh colored’ clay, as well as all these other supplies and bits and bobs, oh my poor craft room. And after hours spent (she went off to a sleepover, I kept on) and moments over a week, we finished the fairies.

withkids2 (3)withkids2withkids2 (1)withkids2

The green haired girl was E’s favorite and the one she worked on the most. I’m not sure I can choose a favorite, there is just something about making tiny things. Anyway, we’re glad these little feather-winged fairies have come to stay with us, and our next project might have to be a proper home for them.

I hope you had a lovely weekend,

xo

Erin

withkids2 (4)

2 thoughts on “With Kids, Part Two

Leave a Reply

