A Happy New Year

new year

{view from the bedroom on the shortest day, a winter trampoline at my in-law’s farm}

And here we are in January. I have been missing from this place, as the hectic December season came and went, and I was kept as busy as I wanted to be (and sometimes a bit more). And Christmas to me is really about my family, my friends, the food, and not so much about working, and so finally I am back to check in here.

The end of one year and beginning of a new one is always a big prompt for me to evaluate my business and my creativity, since those things go hand in hand. I have no shortage of ideas for things to make (I truly have no clue whether these ideas will be popular or make any money, but I also decided years ago to not let that be a measuring stick, and surely not to stop me from doing it anyway), and a few things that I would like to stop creating in order to make time and space for the new. I will continue to create (because I must). My focus on quality has become increasingly important, and more than ever I am committed to keeping my business very small, so I can make the changes that are needed and follow my guts and my hands where they need to go.

It is a happy new year indeed.

Leave a Reply

