Ella’s Room

ellasroomellasroomellasroomellasroom

I wanted to share my daughter’s room here because, I’ll admit, it’s my dream room. So much about it makes me very happy – especially the part that it is finished (a loose term for rooms that are constantly changing). Since we moved into our house about 6 months ago Ella had been asking for new paint in her room – it was an abrasive sort of green, and I understood, it just wasn’t right. After getting a sense of what would work (she is 9, so nothing too little girl) and gathering everything I felt like I needed to re-do the room (because I know with kids it needs to be a quick turnaround), I got to work! The paint color was tricky, and originally she wanted teal, but when she went for a light pink I was at the store so fast before anyone could change their mind. No secret, blush pink is one of my favorites (this is Sea Salt Pink by Behr). The other tricky part was that I can’t just run to ikea or target when I need something (we have neither!), so I had to be creative. The desk was thrifted, Ella chose the swedish ball light from Home Depot, I sewed the cloud cushion and the curtains (from a duvet cover lined with existing blackout curtains) and most of the art was brought out from storage. She made the Happy Times painting and the little weasel, and I made the larger geometric work. We love it, I had so much fun with every part of this process, and now that it looks a little more put together it is easy for her to keep clean. Win-win!

In case you’re curious: Kitty doll by Kitty and Kin, Blythe Doll Print from Umami Baby, Hedgehog quilt was made for me in a swap by Spirited Child, Hedgehog bedding from Homesense,

Leave a Reply

