Funny Little Pots

pots (2)Screen shot 2017-05-01 at 9.17.11 PMpots (4)

Between the new year and spring I took a pottery class. After the first class I thought I might cry – you know, even when you are constantly creative, figuring out the basics of a new craft often has a steep learning curve. I watched you tube videos, I got a little better every week, I vowed to use up every last bit of my clay. By the last throwing class I made two bowls that almost matched, and weren’t too wonky (success!). My favorite part was painting the underglaze (the bright colors like the rainbows and bird above), and then I realized, hey wait, I actually just really love to paint. That process turned my weird little shapes into cute weird little shapes that I started to like. After 10 weeks of an almost completely foreign-to-me process, I brought home all these funny little pots – glazed and shiny. I have no idea what I’ll do with most of them…

Like anything I’ve taken the time to learn, it gave me a new appreciation for ceramics – it is such a long process with so many steps and so much room for error (kind of the opposite of what I do everyday – where things can be finished in relatively short time and mistakes can be undone). A new appreciation for the craft of my ceramic artist friends, and a new appreciation for the pricing of handmade ceramics, for sure. If you’ve ever thought about taking a class, do it. And try not to cry.

pots (1)pots (5)

Leave a Reply

